Day 3: Apple Raisin Breakfast Casserole

Sometimes with cooking I can get stuck in a bit of a rut. I excitedly try out a few new things and inevitably fall back into the same few standbys. I want to get out of that habit and force myself to try something new. I am going to make 60 new to me dishes and hopefully find myself a whole new list of favourite foods.

Day 3: Apple raisin breakfast casserole

Breakfast is always said to be the most important meal of the day, and yet it is the one meal I generally forget. Why? I’m not exactly a morning person, but I am determined to make more of an effort. I also have been wanting to incorporate more oats into my diet so I came up with this. It turned out to be a bit like an apple crisp, but it was still delicious at breakfast time.

 

Ingredients

3 apples, sliced (I used Granny Smiths)
1 cup raisins
2 cups rolled oats
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 cups milk (I used almond milk for this recipe)
1/4 cup corn syrup
1 egg

 

Line your baking dish with the apple slices, I had enough for about 3 layers of apple. Then top with 3/4 cup of the raisins.

104_2020

 

 

In a medium bowl combine the oats, cinnamon, baking powder, brown sugar, and the rest of the raisins. Then put all of the oat mixture on top of the apples.

104_2021

In another bowl, combine the egg, milk and corn syrup, and drizzle that mixture on top of the oats.

Bake at 375F for 40 minutes

104_2022 (just out the oven)

104_2023

Leave a Reply

